Kevin Magnussen

Magnussen claims win number 4 at Spa

Round 20 race report

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS 29 JULY 2011: The luck which has so often gone against Kevin Magnussen in the Cooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series this season turned in his favour at Spa-Francorchamps this afternoon, the Dane claiming a deserved victory for Carlin in the second race of the championship’s Belgian weekend.

Magnussen, who had finished seventh in this morning’s race, was bestowed pole position by the podium draw for the 20-minute ‘reverse grid’ sprint race, and he did not waste the opportunity, making an excellent start to lead into La Source hairpin and then showing his pursuers a clean pair of heels.

By the end of the first lap Kevin was 1.9s ahead of his closest challenger, the FIA Formula 3 International Trophy contender Daniel Juncadella, and the gap between Magnussen and the pack grew with nearly every lap to reach 2.6s by the chequered flag.

“Maybe my luck has turned a little bit,” said Magnussen, whose fourth win it was. “I have needed some luck for a long time now. I’m happy for the win and happy to have turned the weekend around. I have saved my good tyres for the race tomorrow, so hopefully I can go well then too.”

Juncadella’s Prema Powerteam Dallara made a brilliant start from eighth on the grid to wrest second from Carlin man Rupert Svendsen-Cook, who started P2, on the opening lap, but Rupert fought back next time around to regain the position and shadow Magnussen to the line, with Daniel in tow for third overall and a class win.

Said Svendsen-Cook: “That’s four podiums in four weekends now and I’m very happy. Qualifying was crazy: I was stuck with a car set up for the wet, on wet tyres on a dry track. To come back with fourth this morning and second this afternoon is really good. Our pace is evident.”

“Everything went well,” said Juncadella. “My start was very good; I was already fourth after the first corner, and then I made it to P3 when two cars ahead hit each other, and then I passed Rupert at the final corner of the first lap. I was probably running a little more downforce than the others, so Rupert overtook me again and I had to stay behind him because I needed his slipstream on the straights.”

Dutch driver Hannes van Asseldonk was a star of the show, the Van Amersfoort Racing driver starting 12th and battling through to sixth by mid-distance. He set three successive fastest laps on the way past Carlos Munoz and Marco Wittmann to claim fourth overall, with Wittmann, Munoz and Belgium’s Laurens Vanthoor in line astern.

Eighth overall – and third in the British F3 stakes – was championship leader Felipe Nasr, whose Carlin car benefited from an engine change after race one. “We had a problem with the engine, it was running on only three cylinders in the first race,” said Nasr. “So in this race it was important to try to get some good points.”

Daniel Abt placed ninth and William Buller headed home Carlos Huertas for 10th overall (and fourth place in British F3), with Jack Harvey next up from Lucas Foresti, Pietro Fantin (another to have to change an engine), Roberto Merhi, Jazeman Jaafar and Double R’s Scott Pye. Jaafar and Merhi clashed on the opening lap but recovered; Jaafar was later excluded from the results for his part in the collision. Fortec team-mates Harry Tincknell and Fahmi Ilyas collided at the Bus Stop early on, leading to both men’s retirements.

Kotaro Sakurai duly collected his eighth Rookie class victory.

Tomorrow’s Spa finale, the 40-minute feature race, is scheduled for 1240pm local time (1140am UK), and will be screened live on Motors TV.




Cooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series

Round 20, Spa-Francorchamps BEL 29/7/2011

8 laps / 34.82 miles


Provisional results Championship & Invitation classes

1  INT Kevin MAGNUSSEN / DEN,  Carlin Dallara-VW  18m 12.965s / 114.70mph

2  INT Rupert SVENDSEN-COOK / GBR,  Carlin Dallara-VW  +2.614s

3  INV Daniel JUNCADELLA / ESP,  Prema Dallara-Mercedes  +3.369s

4  INV Hannes van ASSELDONK / NED,  Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW  +4.245s

5  INV Marco WITTMANN / GER,  Signature Dallara-VW  +6.118s

6  INV Carlos MUNOZ / COL,  Signature Dallara-VW  +7.143s

7  INV Laurens VANTHOOR / BEL,  Signature Dallara-VW  +7.862s

8  INT Felipe NASR / BRA,  Carlin Dallara-VW  +8.485s

9  INV Daniel ABT / GER,  Signature Dallara-VW  +13.043s

10  INT William BULLER /GBR,  Fortec Dallara-Mercedes  +14.563s

11  INT Carlos HUERTAS / COL,  Carlin Dallara-VW  +14.866s

12  INT Jack HARVEY / GBR,  Carlin Dallara-VW  +15.177s

13  INT Lucas FORESTI / BRA,  Fortec Dallara-Mercedes  +17.934s

14  INT Pietro FANTIN / BRA,  Hitech Dallara-VW  +18.811s

15  INV Robert MERHI / ESP,  Prema Dallara-Mercedes  +19.964s

EXC  INT Jazeman JAAFAR / MAS,  Carlin Dallara-VW  +24.116s

16  INT Scott PYE / AUS,  Double R Dallara-Mercedes  +26.246s

17  INV Raffaele MARCIELLO / ITA,  Prema Dallara-Mercedes  +28.423s

18  INT Hywel LLOYD / GBR,  SVR Dallara-Mercedes  +28.757s etc

Rookie class

1  Kotaro SAKURAI / JPN,  Hitech Dallara-Mugen Honda  +50.402s


Fastest laps  van Asseldonk 2m 15.525s / 115.57mph &

Svendsen-Cook 2m 15.828s / 115.33mph


Full timesheets


Provisional championship standings

1 Nasr 251 points; 2 Huertas 143; 3 Foresti 134; 4 Buller 133; 5 Magnussen 132; 6 Jaafar 130 etc

Rookie class

1 Sakurai 246; 2 Bart Hylkema / NED 214.

Article Written By Admin on 29th Jul 2011