About F3

F3 Today

Promoted by the Stephane Ratel Organisation (SRO), the Cooper Tires British Formula 3 Championship is the leading single-seater championship in the UK and the world’s top Formula 3 series.

Young drivers come from all over the world to race in British F3 and compete against the finest young racing drivers of our generation. Around the world, no other race series has produced as many Grand Prix winners and World Champions.

Since its inception in 1964, British F3 has provided more graduates to Formula 1 than any other single-seater series worldwide. The list of former British F3 Champions who have gone on to become Grand Prix greats includes Ayrton Senna, Jackie Stewart, Emerson Fittipaldi, Gunnar Nilsson, Nelson Piquet, Derek Warwick, Stefan Johansson, Johnny Herbert, JJ Lehto, Mika Hakkinen and Rubens Barrichello.

However, it is not just in Formula 1 that former British F3 drivers excel. The Roll of Honour includes the names of drivers who have gone on to win in Indy cars, GP2 and at Le Mans.

The 2014 season sees a revamped Cooper Tires British Formula 3 Championship take place at seven race meetings with three races per event. 

The series will visit some of Europe’s top motorsport venues, two of which are current Formula 1 circuits with a line-up of Rockingham, Silverstone, Snetterton, Spa-Francorchamps, Thruxton, Brands Hatch and Donington Park making for a highly attractive 21-race calendar. 

The series, now in its 62nd year, will run alongside the high-profile Avon Tyres British GT Championship, Blancpain Endurance Series and support the annual Total 24 Hours of Spa endurance race.


The typical race weekend format includes free practice sessions, qualifying and three races of 30 minutes with race 2 a reverse grid format.